I’m all shook up!

Shakshuka – The best Israeli Eggs
Anyone who knows me is well aware of my aversion to breakfast. It’s not that I don’t like breakfast foods, it’s just that the time doesn’t work for me. I think that brunch was invented for people like me – people whose appetites wake up a few hours after they do. Ok, ok; it’s convenient for those people who like to sleep in on the weekends too. Now I don’t know who it is that I inherited this delayed hunger gene from, but it certainly isn’t my dad. He wakes up and heads straight to the kitchen. He puts the kettle on for his turkish coffee, toasts a bagel which he then spreads with a layer of labne or cream cheese, tops that with some sliced tomatoes, radish or olives and then settles in to watch the morning news.
Despite my inability (or is it unwillingness?) to eat breakfast, my dad always knew just how to coax my hunger out from its slumber. You see, over the years he figured out the somewhat unorthodox breakfast items that would pique my interest. All of them, I might add, which require laborious slicing and chopping thus giving my appetite plenty of time to awaken. Platefuls of sliced tomatoes covered in a spattering of chopped green onions and parsley then drizzled with olive oil and lemon juice was (and still is) a particular favourite. Add a side plate of cracked green olives and you’ve got yourself one happy camper! The ultimate breakfast award though must go to Shakshuka, an Israeli egg dish served straight from the pan. The smell of onions and garlic caramelising, the tang of tomatoes and the smokiness of cumin wafting through the air is enough to instill the greatest pang of hunger ever felt. A warm, fluffy pita is the perfect vehicle for soaking up the lucious juices.
Shakshuka:
  • 1 small to medium onion, chopped
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 4 eggs
  • cumin
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil

Heat the olive oil in a saute pan and cook the onion until if begins to caramelise. Then add the garlic and cook for 30 seconds longer. Add the tomatoes and stir well to combine, reduce heat to medium-low. Season well with salt and pepper and add about 1/2 a tablespoon of cumin, or to taste. Mix well and then crack each egg into the tomato mixture, spacing them out evenly. Season each egg with some pepper and salt, then cover with a lid until just cooked. Serve straight from the pan with toasted pita halves alongside.

4 thoughts on “I’m all shook up!

  1. Merav,Karen sent the link to your blog to me, and while I was reading it you posted the Shakshuka recipe. Tim made them for me. Love your blog and plan to try some of your recipes. Your mom made the meatballs for us when Elijah was born. Keep up the good work. Especially enjoy your writing. Hugs to you, Gail (Tim’s mom)

  2. Love this recipe! We have a very similar dish to this one in Italian cuisine. My father used to make it for me on Sunday mornings. I just love eggs and tomatoes!

Leave a Reply

