The way to a man’s heart – featuring today’s special guest, Patacones.

Mango-Chicken Sausages with Patacones and Guacamole

It must be told that Alex is pretty spoiled when it comes to food. Not that it’s entirely his fault you see; I tend to his spoiledness, nurture it and cater to it. Not only does he have freshly cooked meals (most days of the week), he rarely has a repeater. I even make sure he’s taken care of when I’m away on business. It’s gotten to the point where he’ll open a fully stocked fridge full of possibilities and neatly packed leftovers and ask what we have to eat. On the weekends if I don’t feed him on time (and believe me – I can go until late afternoon before remembering to eat), he’ll start to whimper and whine and grow grumpier by the minute until I force feed him a sandwich! Sure it would benefit him (and me!) to get back in the kitchen and remember what it feels like to cook an egg, make a salad, fry a steak. But truth be told, there’s nothing I love more than the total look of happiness on his face when he takes the first bite of a new dish or an old favourite for that matter. The old adage that the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach is dead on.
Though his sophisticated taste has a penchant for fine dining, a humble plate of sausage and patacones will have my Colombiano smiling from ear to ear. The first time I had patacones was on our first trip together to Colombia. I wasn’t that impressed by the thick, tough, dried out plantain chips and Alex assured me that they were not up to snuff. He explained how these were too thick and probably a bit old. The next time we had them was in Costa Rica, and boy were they a far cry from the disappointing first encounter. These were thin, crisp, salty and fluffy on the inside – just how Alex likes them. I promised I would try to make them once we got back home and I was true to my word. I couldn’t believe how easy they were to make, let alone how quickly they come together. If ever I’m in need of a quick fix supper I pop some of my favourite chicken sausages in the oven, whip up a batch of guac and fry some patacones for good measure.
Patacones
Makes about 12 thin patacones:
  • 2 green, unripe plantains
  • vegetable oil
  • salt

Heat about 2 inches of oil in a deep, heavy bottomed pan over medium heat. Cut the ends off of the plantains and run your knife down to make a shallow cut through the skin. Peel off the skin.

Slice the plantain into 1-inch thick slices (or larger if you prefer a thicker patacon).

Once the oil is hot, fry the sliced plantain for about a minute on each side. Remove from the oil and place on a plate lined with paper towel to drain the excess oil.

Next, place a slice of plantain between two sheets of wax paper. Using a heavy object, such as a wooden cutting board, press down to flatten the plantain to a thin disk. Repeat with the remaining slices.

Fry the patacones until golden and crispy, about 3 to 5 minutes.

Remove from the oil and drain once again on paper towel lined plates. Sprinkle generously with salt and eat as is or as a side.

2 thoughts on “The way to a man’s heart – featuring today’s special guest, Patacones.

  1. My husband often brags to co-workers and family about how his wife always cooks him dinner and rarely repeats – our men are spoiled!! These patacones look delicious. I’ve never had them before, but I want some now!

Leave a Reply

