Sweets for my sweet, sugar for my honey.

Lemon Curd filled Cupcakes with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting

My sister called the other day to tell me all about an adorable cupcake stand she had found. She decided she wanted to start baking the little gems for my nephew, sweets for her sweet. “Aparently cupcakes are all the rage now,” she said. “Aparently? Where have you been!?!?” I retorted.

Cupcakes, tiny as they are, seem to be bigger than cake is now. During my wedding planning phase, a growing trend was to forgo the cake in favor of a cupcake tower. New York City is famed for it’s cupcake bakeries, Magnolia Bakery being at the forefront of course! And then one day as I was cruising the blogosphere, I happened upon the delightful Cup Cake Bake Shop blog run by Cheryl Porro. Well I never would have imagined the weird and wonderful ways you could treat the cupcake. It’s like a blank canvas waiting to be turned into a masterpiece. Gone are the days of sickeningly sweet chocolate or vanilla supermarket cakes. Thai Tea and Lemon Curd pave the way for a new generation of cupcakes. Well Cheryl inspired me to give more thought to the cupcake, something I haven’t baked in more than 10 years.

I decided to start with the Lemon Curd filled cupcakes with Cream Cheese frosting. I was dying to try the Thai Tea ones she made, but I first had to order the syrup. Those are next on my list as my order has since arrived! So I did use a shortcut here in that I bought lemon curd rather than make my own. It was a time restraint issue and honestly they still tasted like a million bucks! The tart curd cuts through the sweet, creamy frosting to give a mouthful of lemony goodness! Recipe below taken from Cheryl Porro at Cup Cake Bake Shop.

Cupcakes from The Magnolia Bakery Cookbook
24 regular cupcakes / 350 degree oven

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  1. Beat butter on high until soft, about 30 seconds.
  2. Add sugar. Beat on medium-high until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.
  3. Add eggs one at a time, beat for 30 seconds between each.
  4. Whisk together flour, baking powder, and baking soda in a bowl.
  5. Measure out milk and vanilla together.
  6. Add about a fourth of the flour to the butter/sugar mixture and beat to combine.
  7. Add about one third the milk/vanilla mixture and beat until combined.
  8. Repeat above, alternating flour and milk and ending with the flour mixture.
  9. Scoop into cupcake papers about half to three-quarters full (depending on whether you want flat or domed cupcakes).
  10. Bake for 22-25 minutes until a cake tester comes out clean.

Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 12 ounces or 1-1/2 packages of cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 stick of butter, softened
  • 4 cups sifted powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
  • squeeze of fresh lemon juice
  1. Beat butter and cheese at medium speed until creamy.
  2. Add half of the sugar, the lemon juice, zest and the vanilla. Beat until combined.
  3. Gradually add remaining sugar (more if you have to) until you get to the consistency and sweetness you like.

To Assemble

  1. Using a small pairing knife, cut off the top of the cupcake in the shape of a cone. Flip the top over and cut off the cone.
  2. Fill the cavity with a teaspoon or so of curd (I used store bought).
  3. Replace top.
  4. Frost with frosting.
  5. Decorate as you wish. I topped the cupcakes with zest.

One thought on “Sweets for my sweet, sugar for my honey.

  1. For me, I usually use honey in place of sugar for sweetness.I’ve been trying the honeys from many specialty places however I find the honey from < HREF="http://www.holyfoodimports.com" REL="nofollow">Holy Food Imports<> to be one of the best brands money can buy.

Leave a Reply

