Break the fast.

Maple and Lime Zest Granola

I have few enemies in this world and find myself a rather non-confrontational person. Don’t get me wrong, I love me a good debate and will argue my point til I’m blue in the face. But I am first and foremost a people pleaser, and if I can make someone happy I strive to do it. Especially when it comes to food. So what does this have to do with breakfast? Well my friend, breakfast and I have had a long and hostile relationship. We have never seen eye to eye. Quite simply, we do not get along. No matter how much I try to make amends with breakfast, I fail miserably. I have nothing against breakfast, or people that partake in it for that matter. I know how good it is for you, that it’s the most important meal of the day, blah blah blah. I just can’t eat it. In the morning that is. Give me breakfast at 10, 11 or 12 and suddenly we’re best friends! Eggs cooked any way, French Toast galore and Bagels with Lox! Alas, in the early morning when I wake up the most I can get down is a cup of tea or coffee, and maybe, just maybe a kiwi or some other slippery fruit.

My poor husband Alex has been on my case about breakfast for years. “We need to start eating breakfast, we’re not healthy if we don’t. We’ll get diabetes!” What he’s really saying is, “Feed me!” You see, Alex is one of those people that gets grumpy if he doesn’t eat, and that is a very polite description. You do not want to be around him when the hunger strikes because it is not a pretty sight. Unfortunately, since he is so well fed around here (from lunch onwards), he has lost the ability to feed himself. He dare not go to the fridge and peek inside to see what he can fix for himself. He will not open the pantry and discover an oasis of food. He is culinary impaired and it is all my fault. Now that he’s graduated from his masters and is out in the corporate world with an 8-5 job, I feel an obligation to make sure he eats breakfast. His poor co-workers would not know what hit them at around ten in the morning, and I feel the need to spare them!

We needed something that is easy to eat, chock full of energy and that keeps well in the pantry. I settled on Granola, or Cruesli for the Europeans. It is so incredibly simple to make and there are millions of different ingredients you can add to spice things up. Why not just buy it? Well as you should know by now, cooking and baking makes me happy. But I would say that controlling and knowing what goes into the end product is extremely appealing to me. My first experiment was simply rolled oats, sliced almonds, salt, lime zest and maple syrup. Since then I have mixed it up with walnuts, pecans, sunflower seeds, coconut, pumpkin seeds, honey and lemon zest. You can add anything your heart desires! To be honest, this is one of the easiest and most rewarding things I have ever made. It takes all of 20 minutes and my husband is a very happy camper and heads off to work well fed. It’s ingenious! Oh, and the best part is that I love it too…just not before ten. Click here for the recipe.

One thought on “Break the fast.

  1. i loved this blog about breakfast, haha. you can’t eat before ten, and i NEED to eat before ten!! i always wake up starving!! ha keep on writing merav!! i look forward to your blogs :o)

Leave a Reply

